Business


Khalifa Bin Yousef running his private business

The eldest son of Yousef Bin Ahmed Bin Obaid Al Suwaidi, he took over the family trading business. In the past, there were no direct trade lines with India and Abu Dhabi bought all its necessary goods from Bahrain. Khalifa's business grew out of a single Dhow, (called Dar Al Salam). He regularly made the trip to Bahrain purchasing and importing rice, sugar, spices and other basic consumables.

Khalifa Bin Yousef showed that he had a mind for business and innovation when the pearling industry came to a halt in the UAE. He made the wise decision to expand his business, and it did not take him very long to build up an excellent reputation as a businessman. He expanded his business empire successfully and soon he found himself as the dealer for some of the world’s biggest and most prestigious international industries. These included British Petroleum (BP), Rothmans, Philips, Rainbow Milk, Palmolive, Vauxhall Motors and Bedford Motors.

He was also the sole representative to both British Airways and the Gulf Company known today as Gulf Air.

 


Khalifa Bin Yousef ran the first gas station in Abu Dhabi

As the pearling era in Abu Dhabi has come to an end, with talent and initiative, Khalifa Bin Yousef expanded his business. Soon he was the dealer for major international industries in the region, like British Petroleum (BP), Rothmans, Philips, Rainbow Milk, Palmolive, Vauxhall Motors and Bedford Motors, "Nechala" in the local dialogue. He was also the sole representative to both the British Airways and the Gulf Company known today as Gulf Air.

 

British Petroleum

Business Petroleum

In 1953, the D'Arcy Exploration Company, the exploration branch of British Petroleum (BP), obtained an offshore concession which was then transferred to a company created to operate it, the Abu Dhabi Marine Areas (ADMA). It was a joint venture between BP and Compagnie Française des Pétroles (later, Total). Using a marine drilling platform, the ADMA Enterprise struck oil in the Umm Shaif field in 1958. Bu Hasa field followed in 1962, and the Zakum offshore field in 1965.

Some of the agencies represented by KBY in Abu Dhabi

الاتحاد


خليفة بن يوسف في مكتبه

كان الإبن البكر لوالده يوسف بن أحمد بن عبيد السويدي، وتسلم الأعمال التجارية لأسرته. في تلك الأيام، لم تكن هناك خطوط تجارية مباشرة مع الهند، وكانت احتياجات أبوظبي التموينية يتم تأمينها من البحرين. وقد بدأت تجارة خليفة بن يوسف بسفينة واحدة، كانت تُسمى دار السلام، وكانت تقوم بالرحلة إلى البحرين لستيراد الأرز والسكر والتوابل وشتى أنواع المنتجات والمواد الاستهلاكية.


أول محطة وقود في أبوظبي بإدارة خليفة بن يوسف

وبنهاية عصر صيد اللؤلؤ في أبو ظبي، وبما إتسم به من موهبة ومبادرة ، إتسعت تجارة خليفة بن يوسف. وأصبح بعد حين وكيلاً حصرياً لعدد من النتجات والصناعات الرئيسية مثل شركة البترول البريطانية(PB) ، روثمانز، فيليبس، حليب راينبو، بالموليف، وفوكسهول موتورز، وبيدفورد موتورز. وعرفت شاحناته بإسم "نشالة" في اللهجة المحلية. وقد كان أيضاً الوكيل الوحيد لشركة الخطوط الجوية البريطانية وشركة الخليج المعروفة اليوم باسم شركة طيران الخليج.

 

شركة البترول البريطانية

Business Petroleum

في عام 1953، حازت دارسي إكسبلورايشن كمباني، وهي شركة الإستكشاف التابعة لشركة البترول البريطانية، على تصريح بالبحث تم تحويله فيما بعد للشركة التي أنشئت بغرض القيام به، والتي سميت شركة أبوظبي للمناطق البحرية ((ADMA وكانت شراكة بين شركة البترول البريطانية شركة البترول الفرنسية (أو كما سميت فيما بعد، توتال). وباستخدام منصة حفر بحرية، عثرت شركة أبوظبي للمناطق البحرية على النفط في حقل أم شايف في عام 1958، ثم حقل بو حصة في 1962، وحقل زاكوم في 1965.

بعض من الشركاء التجاريين لخليفة بن يوسف