Achievements

Khalifa Bin Yousef's role in the establishing of the UAE is of great importance. His efforts in the development of the Emirate of Abu Dhabi will never be forgotten, especially with regards to his contributions to the banking sector that paved the way for the economic growth in the Emirate through capable and modern institutions.

 

Khalifa Bin Yousef with Shiekh Zayed
Khalifa Bin Yousef and Shiekh Zayed

Establishment of HSBC in Abu Dhabi

The establishment of the HSBC bank in Abu Dhabi was initiated through talks between the HSBC and Sheikh Shakbut Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the ruler of Abu Dhabi. Being the Sheikh’s advisor at the time, Khalifa Bin Yousef also played a role in early communications between Abu Dhabi and the HSBC. After negations were made and terms agreed upon, the Abu Dhabi HSBC was licensed and finally established. .

Establishment of National Bank of Abu Dhabi

Years later, in 1968, the National Bank of Abu Dhabi was established. It was the number one bank in Abu Dhabi, the first and only commercial bank, and the first National bank as well. Khalifa Bin Yousef suggested to Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the Ruler of Abu Dhabi at that time, to establish the bank: "Instead of investing in foreign banks, Abu Dhabi should have its own bank for its own people". Khalifa Bin Yousef established the National Bank of Abu Dhabi and chaired it until his death in 1971.

Establishment of Abu Dhabi Chamber of Commerce & Industry

In September 1969, Khalifa Bin Yousef was one the biggest advocators in the establishment of Abu Dhabi's Chamber of Commerce and & Industry. After it was established, he also became an active board member.

Establishment of Abu Dhabi Television Company

In August 1969, The Ruler of Abu Dhabi permitted Khalifa Bin Yousef to establish Abu Dhabi Television Company, and as a result, the first national TV station was born.

الإنجازات

يتصف دور خليفة بن يوسف في تأسيس الإقتصاد الحديث لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بأهمية بالغة. فلا يمكن تجاهل جهوده الإستثنائية في تطوير القطاع المصرفي لإمارة أبوظبي وتمهيد الطريق للنمو الاقتصادي في الإمارة من خلال بناء المؤسسات الحديثة.

 

Khalifa bin Yousef with Shiekh Zayed
خليفة بن يوسف مع الشيخ زايد

تأسيس فرع بنك HSBC في أبوظبي

أقام بنك HSBC إتصالاته مع الشيخ شخبوط بن سلطان آل نهيان، حاكم أبو ظبي، لافتتاح فرع للبنك في الإمارة، وكان خليفة بن يوسف مستشار الشيخ شخبوط في تلك الفترة، فأحال الشيخ شخبوط إليه مبعوث البنك. تفاوض خليفة بن يوسف على الشروط كما رآها. وبناءً على تزكيته وافق الشيخ شخبوط بعد ذلك على منح الترخيص بالعمل وتأسيس أول فرع لبنك HSBC في أبو ظبي.

تأسيس بنك أبو ظبي الوطني

بعد بضعة سنوات، في عام 1968، تم تأسيس البنك الوطني في أبو ظبي. كان البنك الأول في أبو ظبي، البنك التجاري الأول وكذلك البنك الوطني الأول. وكان ذلك بطلب من خليفة بن يوسف الذي قال للشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، حاكم أبو ظبي حينها: "بدلاً من الاستثمار في البنوك الأجنبية ، يكون أبو ظبي يجب أن يكون لها بنكها لأهلهاا". تم تأسيس بنك أبو ظبي الوطني بجهود خليفة بن يوسف الذي ترأسه حتى وفاته في عام 1971.

تأسيس غرفة تجارة وصناعة أبوظبي

في سبتمبر 1969، كان خليفة بن يوسف ممن عملوا على تأسيس غرفة تجارة وصناعة أبو ظبي، وأصبح أيضاً عضواً فيها.

تأسيس شركة تلفزيون أبو ظبي

أغسطس 1969،حصل خليفة بن يوسف على موافقة حاكم أبو ظبي لتأسيس شركة بإسم تلفزيون أبو ظبي.