"Belonged to a generation of pioneers and entrepreneurs, and was described as a man who made history, may God Bless his soul."

Khalifa Bin Yousef

Since the UAE was established four decades ago, it has made an astounding transformation. It was thanks to a few exceptional men, who shared the same vision and intelligence that helped build the country up to be the thriving economy it is today. It was the very same men who brought together the UAE’s heritage and its modern face that now connects the East and the West.

These pages are dedicated to Khalifa Bin Yousef . He was one of the esteemed men mentioned. He belonged to the UAE’s generation of innovative pioneers and entrepreneurs , and was one of the founders of the National Bank of Abu Dhabi . What’s more, he was a political advisor and the Head of the Ruler’s Abu Dhabi Court during the reign of Sheikh Shakhbout Bin Sultan Al Nahyan.

Described often as a man who made history, he was known for his calm demeanor and patience , two qualities he exercised on a regular basis, and two traits that earned him the utmost respect from his contemporaries. He was also referred to the mayor of Abu Dhabi by h is peers .

The purpose of the following pages is to explore some of Khalifa Bin Yousef’s great accomplishments and his legacy. Some men represent an era , however Khalifa Bin Yousef's story is the story of his motherland ; it is a story of its history and how it came to be the thriving place it is today.

"رجل ينتمي الى جيل من الرواد والبناة وصناع التاريخ، رحمه الله عز وجل وأسكنه فسيح جنانه"

Khalifa bin Yousef

حققت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تحولاً مذهلاً خلال العقود الأربعة منذ تأسيسها. لقد ولدت أمة جديدة مزدهرة في خضم عالم جديد مليء بالتحديات، بفضل شجاعة وطموح رجال استثنائيين، صنعوا الرؤية والعزم لبناء وطن اقتصاده متين، وتراثه محفوظ، ومكانه عزيز بين البلاد، مزار للقاصي والداني وملتقى تجارة وصناعة الشرق والغرب.

خليفة بن يوسف، الذي تتكرس له هذه الصفحات، كان واحداً من أولئك الرجال. رجل ينتمي الى جيل من الرواد والبناة. كان من مؤسسي بنك أبو ظبي الوطني، والمستشار السياسي ورئيس ديوان حاكم أبوظبي الشيخ شخبوط بن سلطان آل نهيان.

وُصف خليفة بن يوسف بأنه رجل صنع التاريخ، وعُرف عنه الهدوء والصبر. وقد دعاه معاصريه بعمدة أبو ظبي حتى نهاية أيامه. سوف نتعرف في هذه الصفحات على بعض من تراث وإنجازات خليفة بن يوسف. بعض الرجال يمثلون حقبة من التاريخ الذي عاشوه، قصة خليفة بن يوسف هي قصة بناء وطن.